Skip to main content Skip to home page

Our history

Victoria’s first coroner, Dr William Byam Wilmot MD, was appointed in 1841, 30 years before Melbourne established a temporary morgue on the corner of Flinders Street and Swanston Street in 1871.

It was not until 1888 that the first permanent coroners’ courthouse was constructed alongside the Yarra River and in 1988, the court moved to the purpose-built Coronial Services Centre in Southbank.

The Coroners Court of Victoria as it is today was established on 1 November 2009 when the Coroners Act 2008 came into effect. This was the most significant reform of the Victorian coronial jurisdiction in 25 years and replaced the former State Coroner’s Office.

Last updated on 28 Nov 2018